bad for shidduchim-making light of a frum single’s plight

I am a proud subscripter to bad for shidduchim,a blog which features awesome humour.

I did an interview with the owner:

  1. can you tell me about yourself?
I hate this question. It’s so vague and general and yet it’s supposed to be answered specifically to match the situation. So, for example, you probably expect me to say something like “I’m a 24-year-old, single, orthodox Jewish woman with some nerdy tendencies.” But my job interviewer would expect something more along the lines of, “I’m an experienced funambulist, with successful walks over 5th Avenue, the George Washington Bridge, and the college quad. I know that my antigravitational antics will add value to your organization.” If this were date and someone asked me that question, I would dislike him immediately. I would also answer that I’m a professional researcher working for a multi-billion dollar corporation or some other superficial designation that would make him dislike me in turn.  Honestly? I’m just another human being muddling through life and trying to make sense of my experiences.
     
2.how has writing humour changed you?
I’m glad you think I’m a humor writer. Sometimes I’m accused of being depressing. Sometimes I depress myself. But then I point out that James Thurber was a humor writer, and he wrote sad stories. And try to find something to laugh at in The Human Comedy. So yeah, I guess I can claim to be a humor writer.
     
3.how has your blog changed you?
Excellent question. Bit hard to say. It’s definitely expanded my social life and helped me meet some awesome people. And I still amazed by how many people actually want to read what I write.
   
4.what inspired you to start your blog?
     There’s a post on that somewhere. Here: http://badforshidduchim.wordpress.com/2007/11/16/retrospective/
   
5.  how has writing almost daily changed you?
        I don’t write daily. I usually write frantically for about two weeks, compiling enough posts for more than a month. Then I schedule them ahead of time and sit back. Sometimes I visit the blog to see what I had to say today. It always interests me. But sometimes people will pop up in my chat ranting about something I said today, and I’ll have to sneak over to my blog to check it out, because I have no idea what went up today.
That’s not what you’re looking for, though. You want some kind of change… Honestly, I can only repeat what I said before:
>>It changed me because when I’m trying to write humor, I have to find something funny in the situation. It’s not always easy, since dating – as I noted – can get depressing. In the beginning when I was really ambitious I’d rewrite posts over and over until they morphed from melancholy dirges into cheerful  ragtime tunes.<<
 
 
 
Also the part about the social life. I would say that as much as 65% of my current social circles came from meeting people at ice cream meets or chatting them up online regarding something blog related. One person emailed me with a single-comment question several years ago, and we have an  unbroken chain of emails back and forth since. (We met in person once, too.)
If you’re looking for a life lesson… I guess that everything can be channeled for the general good of mankind. Meaning, my personal frustration is not really personal. It’s shared by so many people, and therefore, what I have to say on the subject is meaningful to so many other people. It’s probably true of most frustrations. This is why they invented support groups. So, in a way, I run a support group, and that’s a bit of a responsibility.
        
6.have you ever felt like giving up?if so,what inspired you to continue ?
                                            Have I ever felt like giving up? Yes, a million times. I used to announce that I was quitting on average of every 6 months. I gave up on announcing it. Now, when I feel like I don’t have anything to say and my posts are boring I just pull back a little and try to regroup my resources. My hit counter is still pretty high, so clearly people want to read what I’m writing, right? It’s just a matter of stepping back from the stresses of life and focusing on one particular topic.
Was that any good? I’m afraid you’ve picked the wrong person if you’re looking for an inspirational story of the sort you could publish in Hamodia. I tend to just chug along. Dating doesn’t really obsess me – it’s just my evening job. And blogging doesn’t make me weepy. At all. Although I’ve felt pretty bad when I’ve posted things I shouldn’t have. I do that on average once a year, usually when a guy frustrates me beyond belief and I almost wish he would read the post about himself. Of course, somehow he always does and then I feel like a worm. There has to be a good way of giving a guy constructive feedback, but I haven’t discovered it yet.
I have to say,that is one of the most interesting interviews for me to do.
what’s your opinion?
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: I’m Famous! « Bad for Shidduchim
  2. umcheckplease
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 17:56:48

    As a big fan of bad4 I have to say that her site was part of what inspired me to begin blogging. Her writing style is extremely engaging and VERY relatable! Sometimes when I read her posts I find myself nodding in agreement as if to say “yes…. EXACTLY! Couldn’t have said it better myself”

    Reply

  3. Devorah
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 20:38:01

    Great interview 🙂 thanks!

    Reply

  4. ramadan
    Aug 28, 2013 @ 08:11:38

    I am regular visitor, how are you everybody? This article
    posted at this web page is really nice.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

